• GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen

GEVORKIAN Karen

Basson (Bassoon)

Karen Gevorkian was born in Moscow into a musical family. Karen started to study the bassoon at the age of fourteen with famous Latvian bassoon soloist Andris Arnicans. Just one year later, he entered into the Gnessin Musical College in Moscou. In 1993 all Gevorkian family moved to Brussels and Karen had entered into the Royal Conservatory of Brussels to study with Pierre Kerremans. Few years later he was unanimously awarded a first prize. He continued to study for a master’s degree at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels completing his studies with the highest Bassoon Diploma with distinction.
Karen’s talent has been recognised at few competitions, such as the Young Musicians Competition in Moscow and the Tenuto Contest in Belgium.
Karen Gevorkian has performed several times as a soloist. In 2000 and 2002 he performed C.M. von Weber’s and J.B.Wanhal’s Bassoon Concertos with the Ensemble Orchestral of Brussels. In 2004, the Cologne New Philharmonic invited him as a soloist for their Australian Concert Tour to perform the Mozart Bassoon Concerto. He gave superbly acclaimed concerts in Sydney Opera House, Melbourne Concert Hall and Canberra Llewellyn Hall as well as in other important Australian concert halls.
In his resident Belgium he has performed extensively with the country’s leading orchestras, such as Belgian National Orchestra, Koninkljike Fhilharmonie van Vlaanderen, Vlaamse Opera, L’Orchestre Philharmonique de Liège, L’Orchestre de Chambre de Mons. He has worked with eminent conductors such as A. Pappano, G. Herbig, K. Ono, A. Altinoglu etc and toured all over the world.
Karen Gevorkian has been first bassoon of the Philharmonia of the Nations, Germany (under direction of Justus Frantz) since 2000. With this orchestra he has made several concert-tours throughout Europe and Asia and played in some of the most important concert halls in the world: Berlin Philharmonie, Gewandhaus Concert Hall, Hamburg Musikhalle, Dusseldorfer Tonhale, etc.
He joined the La Monnaie Orchestra as bassoonist and contrabassoon solo in 2008.
He has also been the first bassoon solo of the Charlemagne Chamber Orchestra as well as a member of several chamber music ensembles: Ensemble Spectra, Champ d’Action, Emanon.

#

• GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen
  • GEVORKIAN Karen

GEVORKIAN Karen

Basson (Bassoon)

Karen Gevorkian est né à Moscou dans une famille de musiciens. Karen a commencé à étudier le basson à l’âge de 14 ans avec le célèbre basson soliste letton Andris Arnicans. Un an plus tard, il entre à l’Université de musique Gnessin à Moscou. En 1993, toute sa famille s’installe à Bruxelles et Karen entre au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles pour étudier avec Pierre Kerremans. Quelques années plus tard, il reçoit à l’unanimité un premier prix. Il continue à étudier dans le cadre d’un master au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles et termine ses études avec le diplôme de basson le plus élevé avec mention.
Le talent de Karen a été reconnu lors de nombreux concours, tel que le Concours des Jeunes Musiciens à Moscou et le Concours Tenuto en Belgique.
Karen Gevorkian a joué à plusieurs reprises en tant que soliste. En 2000 et 2002, il a joué les concertos pour basson de C. M. von Weber et de J. B. Wanhal avec l’Ensemble Orchestral de Bruxelles. En 2004, le Cologne New Philharmonic l’a invité comme soliste dans leur tournée de concerts en Australie pour jouer le concerto pour basson de Mozart. Il a donné avec succès des concerts au Sydney Opera House, au Concert Hall de Melbourne et au Canberra Llewellyn Hall ainsi que dans d’autres salles de concert australiennes de renommée internationale.
En Belgique, où il réside actuellement, il a joué à de nombreuses reprises avec les plus grands orchestres du pays, tels que l’Orchestre National de Belgique, le Koninkljike Fhilharmonie van Vlaanderen, le Vlaamse Opera, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Liège et l’Orchestre de Chambre de Mons. Il a travaillé avec de célèbres chefs d’orchestre, tels que A. Pappano, G. Herbig, K. Ono, A. Altinoglu, etc., et a effectué des tournées dans le monde entier.
Depuis 2000, Karen Gevorkian est premier basson du Philharmonique des Nations en Allemagne (sous la direction de Justus Frantz). Avec cet orchestre, il a effectué plusieurs tournées en Europe et en Asie et a joué dans quelques-unes des plus célèbres salles de concert du monde : Berlin Philharmonie, Gewandhaus Concert Hall, Hambourg Musikhalle, Dusseldorfer Tonhale, etc.
Il a rejoint l’Orchestre de La Monnaie comme bassoniste et contrebasson solo en 2008.
Il a également été le premier basson solo de l’Orchestre de Chambre Charlemagne ainsi que membre de plusieurs ensembles de musique de chambre : Ensemble Spectra, Champ d’Action et Emanon.

#