• GUBISCH Nora

GUBISCH Nora

Mezzo-Soprano

Born in Paris, Nora Gubisch began her musical studies in the Young Choir of Radio France and studied piano with Catherine Collard, then studied singing at the Conservatory of Paris with Christiane Eda-Pierre where she won a first prize. Later she met Vera Rozsa who becomes her master.

She is now one of the most requested mezzos of her generation.

At the opera, she sings the title role of Carmen in Berlin, Paris, Zurich and many productions worldwide, Juditha triumphans (Vivaldi), Salammbô (Fenelon) at the Paris Opera, The Beautiful Helen (Offenbach), in the festivals of Salzburg and Aix-en-Provence, The Rape of Lucretia (Britten) at the Lyon Opera, Salomé (Mariotte), Tancredi (Rossini), Thérèse (Massenet) ; as well as Sesto (The Clemency of Titus, Mozart), Penelope (The Return of Ulysses to his Homeland, Monteverdi), Marguerite (The Damnation of Faust, Berlioz), Charlotte (Werther, Massenet), Judith (Bluebeard’s Castle, Bartók), Amneris (Aida, Verdi) ; and Wagnerian roles like Magdalene (The Master-Singers of Nuremberg), Waltraute (Twilight of the Gods) and Brangäne (Tristan and Isolde), etc.

She appears on major international stages under the direction of Sir Colin Davis, Georges Prêtre, Lorin Maazel, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, James Conlon, Christoph Eschenbach, Armin Jordan, and with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Staatskapelle in Dresden, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Orchéstre de Paris, the National Orchestra of France, the New Philharmonic Orchestra as well as the City of Birmingham Orchestra, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, etc.

Nora Gubisch also sings oratorio and chamber music and gives since several years recitals with the pianist Alain Altinoglu with whom she already recorded two discs of French melodies acclaimed by the critics (Duparc’s Integral and Ravel’s Melodies – naive). Her discography also includes A child of our time (Tipett), Perela (Dusapin), The Rhine Nixies (Offenbach), The King’s Children (Humperdinck), Hary Janos (Kodály), Requiem (Lancino), Les Nuits hallucinées (Escaich), Therese by Massenet (title role), and her latest album, Folk Songs (naive), has just been released.

Her projects will lead her to Zurich in a creation of Christian Jost, Die rote laterne (The red lantern), then Carmen at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin, Judith in Bluebeard’s Castle by Bartok in Vienna, at the festival of Montpellier in La Jacquerie by Lalo and in many concerts and recitals with alain Altinoglu in Lucerne (Summer Nights by Berlioz), Zurich – for the new year concert at the Ton Halle, as well as in Paris, at La Monnaie in Brussels, at the Bad Kissingen Festival and as Charlotte in Werther at the Teatro Liceu in Barcelona, etc.

Nora Gubisch was appointed Knight of Arts and Letters in France.

#

• GUBISCH Nora

GUBISCH Nora

Mezzo-Soprano

Née à Paris, Nora Gubisch, commence ses études musicales à la Maîtrise de Radio France et le piano avec Catherine Collard, puis étudie le chant au Conservatoire de Paris avec Christiane Eda-Pierre où elle obtient un premier prix. Puis, elle rencontre Vera Rozsa qui devient son maître.
Elle est aujourd’hui une des mezzos les plus demandées de sa génération.
À l’opéra, elle incarne les rôles-titres de Carmen à Berlin, Paris, Zurich et dans de nombreuses productions à travers le monde, Juditha triumphans (Vivaldi), Salammbô (Fénelon) à l’Opéra de Paris, La Belle Hélène (Offenbach) aux festivals de Salzbourg et d’Aix-en-Provence, Le Viol of Lucrèce (Britten) à l’Opéra de Lyon, Salomé (Mariotte), Tancredi (Rossini), Thérèse (Massenet) ; ainsi que Sesto (La Clémence de Titus, Mozart), Pénélope (Le Retour d’Ulisse dans sa patrie, Monteverdi), Marguerite (La Damnation de Faust, Berlioz), Charlotte (Werther, Massenet), Judith (Le Château de Barbe-Bleue, Bartók), Amneris (Aida, Verdi) ; et les rôles wagnériens de Magdalene (Les Maîtres chanteurs de Nuremberg), Waltraute (Le Crépuscule des dieux) et Brangäne (Tristan et Isolde).
Elle se produit sur les grandes scènes internationales, sous la direction de Sir Colin Davis, Georges Prêtre, Lorin Maazel, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, James Conlon, Christoph Eschenbach, Armin Jordan, et avec l’Orchestre Philarmonique de New York, l’Orchestre Philarmonique de Vienne, l’Orchestre de la Staatskapelle de Dresde, l’Orchestre Symphonique de Londres, l’Orchestre de Paris, l’Orchestre National de France, le Nouvel Orchestre Philarmonique ainsi qu’avec l’Orchestre de Birmingham, l’Orchestre Symphonique de la BBC, etc.
Elle se consacre aussi à l’oratorio et à la musique de chambre et forme depuis plusieurs années un duo avec le pianiste Alain Altinoglu avec lequel elle a déjà enregistré deux disques de mélodies françaises salués par la critique (Intégrale Duparc et Mélodies de Ravel, naïve). Sa discographie comporte également A child of our time – Un enfant de notre temps (Tipett), Perela (Dusapin), Rheinnixen – Les Fées du Rhin (Offenbach), Königskinder – Les enfants du roi (Humperdinck), Hary Janos (Kodály), Requiem (Lancino), Les Nuits hallucinées (Escaïch), Therese de Massenet (rôle-titre), et son dernier disque, Folk Songs (naïve), qui vient de paraître.
Ses projets l’emmèneront à Zurich dans une création de Christian Jost, Die Rote Laterne (La lanterne rouge), puis Carmen au Deustche Oper de Berlin, Judith du Château de Barbe-Bleue de Bartok à Vienne, puis au festival de Montpellier dans La Jacquerie de Lalo, puis en récitals et concerts avec Alain Altinoglu à Lucerne (Nuits d’été de Berlioz), Zurich (concert du nouvel an à la Tonhalle), ainsi qu’à Paris, à la Monnaie de Bruxelles, au festival de Bad Kissingen, au grand théâtre du Liceu de Barcelone dans le rôle de Charlotte (Werther), etc.
Nora Gubisch a été nommée Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres.

#